If you are a California worker and you were injured on the job, you are entitled by law to receive two-thirds of your gross wages before tax when you are unable to work due to your injury. Some employers offer compensation of the full amount of wages lost. However, there is a cap on the maximum allowable compensation amount, which is set at $986.69.
Some public entities that are self-insured make sure that the worker will still be able to receive their full salary regardless of this, however. Here are some tips on calculating your wage compensation.
Calculate the maximum workers’ compensation benefit
First, figure out your weekly wage based on your annual salary. For example, a salary of $52,000 would mean that your weekly wage is $1,000. Multiplying this salary by 2/3 would calculate the workers’ compensation maximum benefit.
Find out if your employer is part of the Disability with Leave program
The other third would be lost income that is not covered by workers’ compensation. You should find out whether your employer is part of the Disability with Leave program. If they are, this other third of your lost salary will be covered by them.
What happens if I don’t work for a self-insured company?
If your company does not provide benefits, you will be entitled to two-thirds of your wage before tax.
Calculating your workers’ compensation can be complex. It is important to consider how much you think you are entitled to and question your employer if they are not compensating you with what you deserve.
Source: Chron, “How to Calculate Worker’s Compensation in Payroll in California,” accessed Dec. 01, 2017